Nine candidates to put their name forward for Fine Gael selection convention in Sligo/Leitrim

The deadline for nominations for the Sligo/Leitrim Fine Gael selection convention is today.

Candidates will have to submit their papers by 5pm this evening.

Last week, Sligo/Leitrim Fine Gael TD Tony McLoughlin announced his retirement from politics, so there are vacancies up for grabs to run for the party in the constituency.

Currently nine candidates have confirmed to Ocean FM News that they are putting their names forward; and they are – Senator Frank Feighan, former TD Gerry Reynolds, former TD and Minister John Perry, former Senator Michael Comiskey, Chairman of the Fine Gael Constituency Executive in Sligo/Leitrim Noel Merrick, Sligo Cllrs Sinead McGuire and Hubert Keaney and Sligo Fine Gael representative Blaine Gaffney.

While former Senator Imelda Henry has said that she will not be a candidate, despite speculation that she would put her name forward.

The convention will take place in the Clayton Hotel in Sligo on the 19th of July.