Sligo Shuttle Stars honoured at Sligo Tennis Club

The Mayor of Sligo has honoured the seven badminton players from the Sligo Shuttle Stars who won 4 silver and 4 bronze medals as well as 6 ribbons at the Special Olympics National Games.

The group, comprising Jennifer Mulligan, Peggy Mc Donnell, Heather Dunne, Joe Fallon, Gabrielle Field, John Martin and Johnathan Price, were part of the Connacht squad that took part in the National Games last month.

They were honoured by Mayor Rosaleen O’Grady at an event at Sligo Tennis Club last night where she presented each Shuttle Star athlete with a special trophy.

The event heard that the athletes put a massive effort into their preparations, training diligently every week, as well as extra coaching sessions with the Connacht squad.

Club President, Michéal O’Broin, thanked the large attendance for turning out to welcome the sporting heroes to the Club, and expressed the Club’s appreciation for all the hard work put in by the Shuttle Stars, and the many volunteers who support them week-in, week-out.