Sligo Municipal Council pass motion supporting Repealing the 8th

Sligo Municipal Council had passed a motion to support Repealing the 8th Amendment.

The motion was passed at today’s meeting.

The motion was due to come before the May meeting of Sligo County Council, but that meeting was adjourned, so it instead came before the Municipal Council meeting today.

Cllr Gino O’Boyles motion called on the council to support repealing the 8th amendment.

It was passed, with four Cllrs supporting the motion, two abstaining and one voting against.

People Before Profit Cllr Gino O’Boyle, Independent Cllr Declan Bree, Sinn Fein Cllr Chris McManus and Fine Gael Cllr Sinead MaGuire all supported the motion.

Indepdent Cllr Marie Casserly and Fine Gael Cllr Hubert Keaney abstained, while Fianna Fail Cllr Seamus Kilgallion voted against.