No joy for Sligo-Leitrim in Oscar Traynor Cup semi-final

Sligo Leitrim DSL


Sligo-Leitrim’s run in this season’s FAI Oscar Traynor Cup came to a disappointing end on Saturday last when they were beaten 2-1 by Carlow in the competition’s semi-final at IT Carlow.

The home side scored twice in the opening half-hour, both goals from striker Lee Salter, his first goal coming on twelve minutes the second of which was a converted penalty on the half hour, to give Sligo-Leitrim a lot to do.


Sligo-Leitrim trailed 2-0 at half-time after an under par first-half where they failed to threaten Carlow’s goalkeeper Zak Youngram.

But the visitors improved in the second period and they managed to halve the deficit with seven minutes of normal time remaining.


Conor Griffin was fouled in Carlow’s penalty area and Mark McGoldrick converted the subsequent spot-kick.


Despite consistent pressure from Sligo-Leitrim they were unable to force an equaliser in the four minutes of time added on.


Sligo-Leitrim squad: Mark Rooney, Killian Sweeney, Aaron Murren, Conor Griffin, Steve Feeney, Christopher Kelly, Aaron O’Boyle, Ross McLoughlin (c), Ryan McManus, Mark McGoldrick, Mark McCallion, Keith Nibbs, Stephen Armstrong, Gary Finan, Shay Doherty, Keelan Kennoy, Johnny Lynch, Tony Clarke

Carlow squad: Zak Youngram, David O’Shea, Stephen Charlton, Robert Dowling, Cathal Gaffney, Cathal Coughlan (c), Mark Davis, Colin Osborne, Graham Delaney, Lee Salter, Craig Comerford, Daryl Coleman, Cian Dowling, Lee Murphy, Phil Neenan, Adam Flynn, Jamie Hennessy


Referee: Lee Kill


In the Andrew Mullen Premier League Benbulben made the journey to Real Tubber and profitable one. Eoghan Brady opened the scoring on sixteen minutes with a screamer of a goal and ten minutes into the second half Anthony Moylette drill home the second to leave Benbulben 2-0 ahead. Real Tubber were awarded a penalty five minutes later but Eoin Walsh seen his effort brilliantly saved by the Benbulben net minder. Ten minutes from time and Eoin Walsh netted a superb effort but it was to little to late and the Grange Warriors took all three points.



All Cups presented for last season to be returned to the Hon Secretary in Pristine condition by the 30th April.



Result Saturday 28th April

Oscar Traynor Semi Final IT Carlow KO 3pm


Carlow DSL 1 – 2Sligo Leitrim DSL


Result Sunday 29h April


Andrew Mullen Premier League


Real Tubber 1 – 2 Benbulben FC


Fixtures Thursday 3rdMay

Sligo Southern Hotel Super League KO  6.45pm


Ballymote Celtic v Carbury FC  

Andrew Mullen Premier League


Cartron Utd v Merville Utd  


Fixtures Sunday 6th May

Sligo Southern Hotel Super League KO  11am


Manor Rangers v Carbury  

Andrew Mullen Premier League


Glenview Stars v MCR FC  
Real Tubber v Merville Utd  

Fixtures Wednesday 9th May

Sligo Southern Hotel Super League KO 6.45


Ballisodare Utd v St Johns FC  
Carbury FC v Calry Bohs  

Andrew Mullen Premier League


MCR FC v Benbulben FC  
Cliffoney Celtic v Glenview Stars  


Fixtures Friday 11th May

Sligo Southern Hotel Super League KO  6.45pm


Carbury FC v Arrow Harps  

Andrew Mullen Premier League


Real Tubber v MCR FC  
Merville Utd v Cliffoney Celtic  


Cleary Landscapes & Pitch Maintenance Div. 1 Semi Finals


Dromore Villa v Gurteen Celtic  
Coolaney Utd v Chaffpool Rovers  

Fixture Sunday 13th May KO 11am

Semi Final Glasshouse Hotel Cup  

5 Strand Celtic v Ballymote Celtic
6 Carbury FC v Ballisodare Utd

Semi Final Frank Kennedy Memorial Cup

C Merville Utd v Benbulben FC
D Chaffpool Utd v Glenview Stars

All results by 1.30pm after game to 087 1417566 Home team responsible for calling in match result with all scorers. Where a ground is deemed unplayable the home team can if possible provide another approved venue otherwise the game must revert to the opponent’s ground. Where both grounds are unplayable the two teams concerned can agree fixture for approved Astro if available and split the costs 50/50. Home Team responsible to provide at least Four (4) Match Balls for all Home fixtures. Where both Clubs agree an alternative prior to the above schedule once a SBISRS is available and the League are in agreement there is no issue with bringing any fixture forward. All Cup games decided on the Day. 10 minutes E/W extra time and penalty’s where required.



League Tables Sunday 29th April 2018


Sligo Southern Hotel Super League


  P W D L F A GD Pts
1 Carbury FC 14 14 0 0 60 6 54 42
2 Manor Rangers 17 12 1 4 50 31 19 37
3 Strand Celtic FC 18 11 2 5 49 32 17 35
4 Ballymote Celtic 17 7 3 7 45 39 6 24
5 Aughanagh Celtic 18 6 5 7 29 34 -5 23
6 Ballisodare United 17 5 6 6 45 41 4 21
7 Arrow Harps 17 5 4 8 32 42 -10 19
8 Calry Bohs 17 5 4 8 29 36 -7 19
9 St. John’s FC 17 5 2 10 32 54 -22 17
10 Ballygawley Celtic 18 0 3 15 13 69 -56 3

 Ej’s Leading Scorers: (20) Gareth Kelly Carbury FC (17) Ibrahim Savage Carbury FC (16) Andrew Patton Ballisodare Utd (15) Seamus Ryder Manor Rangers Malachy Spratt St. John’s FC Lee Marshall Strand Celtic (13) Niall Walsh Manor Rangers Mark Irwin Ballymote Celtic (9) Jack Hever Ballymote Celtic (7) Conor Davey Ballisodare Utd Vincent Sweeney Manor Rangers (6) Seamus Hailstones Arrow Harps Dermot Beggan Aughanagh Celtic Anthony Elding Arrow Harps (5) Paul McTiernan Aughanagh Celtic Ben Touhy Arrow Harps Kevin Coen Calry Bohs Steve Feeney Carbury FC Matthew Conlon Oates Strand Celtic

Sligo Pallets Premier League


P W D L F A GD Pts
1 MCR FC 17 16 0 1 65 19 46 48
2 Cliffoney Celtic 18 12 3 3 58 23 35 39
3 Merville United 15 13 0 2 62 20 42 39
4 Glenview Stars 16 12 1 3 50 18 32 37
5 Cartron United F.C. 19 10 2 7 53 30 23 32
6 Real Tubber 17 8 2 7 45 41 4 26
7 Benbulben FC 18 6 2 10 31 48 -17 20
8 Chaffpool United 20 3 5 12 26 46 -20 14
9 Dromore Villa 20 4 2 14 18 64 -46 14
10 Coolaney United 20 3 4 13 25 60 -35 13
11 Gurteen Celtic 20 1 3 16 14 78 -64 6

Ej’s Leading Scorers: (26) Keith Nibbs MCR FC (19) Ryan Mc Manus Merville Utd Kevin Buckley Cartron Utd F.C (17) Keith Carty Glenview Stars, (12) Jack Walsh Real Tubber Bartley Clancy Cliffoney Celtic Alan Harrison Cliffoney Celtic (11) Joe Kilcullen Coolaney Utd Stephen Feeney Dromore Villa Eoin Walsh Real Tubber (9) Ciaran Harvey MCR (8) Gavin Mc Donagh Cartron Utd (6) Colin Feehily Cartron Utd Criostoir Davey Chaffpool Utd Niall Thomas Cliffoney Celtic Niall Sheerin Cliffoney Celtic