McDermott retains place for English tie

Sligo’s Aoife McDermott has retained her place in the Irish women’s team for the third game in a row.

The Riverstown native is again named in the second row for the final Six Nations Championship game against England at the Ricoh Arena in Coventry tomorrow.

McDermott made her international debut in the win against Wales, and also started the defeat to Scotland last Sunday.

There are a number of changes to the starting 15, however, as Louise Galvin comes in on the wing with Hannah Tyrell moving to full-back and former IT Sligo student Kim Flood dropping to the bench.

Nicole Cronin gets a start at scrum-half.

In the pack, Ashleigh Baxter is named at blindside, in a move that sees Ciara Griffin move to number 8, and Paula Fitzpatrick revert to the second row to partner McDermott.

Donegal’s Laura Feely is again among the replacements.

Meanwhile, Sligo native Niall Kenneally has retained his place in midfield for the Irish club team ahead of their game away to Scotland tomorrow.

The Cork Constitution clubman also featured at centre for the side that beat Scotland in the first game in Athlone three weeks ago.

IRELAND CLUB INTERNATIONAL Team & Replacements (v Scotland Clubs, Ulster Bank Club International Match, Netherdale, Galashiels, Friday, March 16, kick-off 7.30pm):

15. Eamonn Mills (Lansdowne)
14. Harry Brennan (Lansdowne)
13. Niall Kenneally (Cork Constitution)
12. Matt D’Arcy (Clontarf)
11. Daniel McEvoy (Lansdowne)
10. Jamie Gavin (Garryowen)
9. Neil Cronin (Garryowen) (capt)
1. Cronan Gleeson (Old Wesley)
2. Robbie Smyth (Terenure College) *
3. Colm Skehan (Young Munster)
4. Ben Reilly (Clontarf)
5. Alex Thompson (Terenure College)
6. Michael Melia (Terenure College)
7. Jack Dwan (Lansdowne)

8. Michael Noone (Clontarf)


16. Paddy Finlay (Dublin University)
17. Tom O’Reilly (St. Mary’s College)
18. James Kendrick (Cashel) *
19. Joe McSwiney (Cork Constitution)
20. Paulie Tolofua (Naas)
21. Angus Lloyd (Dublin University)
22. Mark O’Neill (Tenenure College)
23. Fionn Higgins (Naas) *

* Denotes uncapped player at this level


Head Coach – Morgan Lennon
Assistant Coach – Johne Murphy
Team Manager – Maurice Hartery
Baggage Master – David Jermyn
Strength & Conditioning Coach – Cathal Murtagh
Doctor – Stuart O’Flanagan
Physio – Ailbe McCormack


IRELAND WOMEN’S Team & Replacements (v England Women, 2018 Womens Six Nations Championship, Ricoh Arena, Coventry, Friday, March 16, kick-off 5.30pm):

15. Hannah Tyrrell (Old Belvedere/Leinster)
14. Megan Williams (Old Belvedere/Leinster)
13. Katie Fitzhenry (Blackrock/Leinster)
12. Sene Naoupu (Old Belvedere/Leinster)
11. Louise Galvin (UL Bohemians/Munster)
10. Niamh Briggs (UL Bohemians/Munster)
9. Nicole Cronin (UL Bohemians/Munster)
1. Lindsay Peat (Railway Union/Leinster)
2. Cliodhna Moloney (Railway Union/Leinster)

3. Leah Lyons (Highfield/Munster)
4. Aoife McDermott (Railway Union/Leinster)
5. Paula Fitzpatrick (St. Mary’s/Leinster)
6. Ashleigh Baxter (Cooke/Ulster)
7. Claire Molloy (Bristol)
8. Ciara Griffin (UL Bohemians/Munster) (capt)


16. Ciara O’Connor (Galwegians/Connacht)
17. Laura Feely (Galwegians/Connacht)
18. Fiona Reidy (UL Bohemians/Munster)
19. Ciara Cooney (Railway Union/Leinster)
20. Anna Caplice (UL Bohemians/Munster)
21. Ailsa Hughes (Railway Union/Leinster)
22. Michelle Claffey (Blackrock/Leinster)
23. Kim Flood (Railway Union/Leinster)