Sligo too strong for Leitrim in FBD League

Sligo got their first win under new boss Cathal Corey thanks to an eight-point defeat of Leitrim in the FBD League last night.

It finished 2-17 to 0-15 in favour of the Yeats men at the Connacht GAA Centre, with Adrian Marren and Pat Hughes netting the Sligo goals in the opening half.

The pair hit 2-8 between them, while Keith Beirne hit a personal tally of ten points for Leitrim.

Sligo boss Corey says it was a decent performance…

Sligo’s last game in the competition is at home to All-Ireland finalists Mayo on Sunday.

Stephen Rochford is set to a full squad available for the first time this year for that game, as they continue preparations for Sunday week’s league opener against Monaghan.

Throw-in in Markievicz Park on Sunday is at 2pm.

Scorers : Sligo : Adrian Marren (1-5,1,45), Pat Hughes(1-3 ), Stephen Coen (0-2,1f), Niall Murphy (0-2)Gerard O’Kelly Lynch (0-1), Paddy O’Connor (0-1), Neil Ewing(0-1), Sean Carrabine(0-1)Mickie Gordon(0-1)

Leitrim: Keith Beirne (0-10,8fs) Ryan O’Rourke(0-2),Jack Heslin(0-1)

Sligo : A Devaney; M Gordon, L Nichloson, E McGuinness; K Cawley, P Kilcoyne, G O’K Lynch; J Clarke, P O’Connor; N Ewing, F Cawley, A Marren; S Coen, P Hughes, K Cawley
Subs Used : S Carrabine for A Marren(42), D Cummins for L Nichloson(42), J O’Reilly for K Cawley(48), N Murphy for F Cawley(52), G Brady for J Clarke (62), K Henry for P O’Connor (62)

Leitrim : B Flynn; L Ryan, A Armstrong, N Plunkett; J O’Brien, C Canning, D Feeley; C Moreton, D Moran; J Heslin, D McGovern, K McGloin; N McWeeney, K Beirne, R O’Rourke
Subs : M McWeeney for L Ryan (30), M Murphy for A Armstrong (HT), A Flynn for D Feeley(41), B Gallagher for K McGloin (43), C Reynolds for J Heslin(50), D Rooney for D Moran(50)

Referee : D Corcoran (Mayo)