Sligo-Leitrim tie moved to Connacht GAA Centre

Tonight’s rescheduled FBD League game between Leitrim and Sligo has been switched to the Connacht GAA Centre in Bekan.

The game was due to take place in Cloone, but the inclement weather means that the game has been switched, with the throw-in time pushed back to 8pm.

It will be Sligo’s second trip to the Bekan in the competition, after their round one game against Galway was also switched.

Sligo have named their team for the tie, with Luke Nicholson given a chance to impress at full-back, while Eoin McHugh is named at centre-back.

Newcomers Mikey Gordon, Eddie McGuinness, James Clarke, Paul Kilcoyne, Finnian Cawley and Sean Carabine are given another chance to stake a claim in the league squad.

Both sides are looking for their first win of the season, though Leitrim did draw with Mayo in Castlebar last week before losing out to Galway at the weekend.

Selector John O’Mahony says that they are taking plenty of positives from the early-season competition, but the focus is on the start of the league at the end of January…

There will be live updates from the game on Ocean FM.


FBD Insurance Connacht GAA Senior Football League 2018

Home Team Away Team Date Time Round Venue Referee
Leitrim 1-3 Roscommon 2-14 3/1/2018 19:00 Round 1 Leitrim GAA Centre of Excellence, Annaduff John Gilmartin
Sligo 0-11 Galway 1-12 3/1/2018 19:00 Round 1 Connacht GAA Centre Jerome Henry
Leitrim Sligo 17/1/2018 20:00 Round 2 Connacht GAA Centre D. Corcoran
Mayo 1-9 Galway 1-10 12/1/2018 19:30 Round 2 Elverys MacHale Park, Castlebar Paddy Neilan
Mayo 0-13 Leitrim 1-10 10/1/2018 19:00 Round 3 Elverys MacHale Park, Castlebar Shane Hehir
Roscommon 3-19 Sligo 2-10 10/1/2018 19:00 Round 3 Kiltoom Paul Lydon
Roscommon 0-14 Mayo 0-11 14/1/2018 14:00 Round 4 Dr Hyde Park Martin Flaherty
Galway 3-6 Leitrim 0-8 14/1/2018 14:00 Round 4 Clonbur GAA Club Barry Judge
Galway Roscommon 21/1/2018 14:00 Round 5 Tuam Stadium Liam Devenney
Sligo Mayo 21/1/2018 14:00 Round 5 Markievicz Park Eamon O Grady
Top Team in Group Runner up in Group 18/2/2018 14:00 Final Tbc