Mona McSharry advances to European semi-final

Sligo’s Mona McSharry has qualified for the semi-finals of the 50 metres breaststroke at the European Short Course Championships in Denmark.

The 17-year-old’s time of 30.80 seconds was the 16th fastest time in the qualifying heats, and she will be back in the pool in Copenhagen shortly after four o’clock Irish time for the semi-finals.

After a tremendous final year at junior level, the Marlins Ballyshannon Swim Club member is making the step up to senior level at the event, which got underway this morning and runs until Sunday.

The Coláiste Cholmcille student is European Junior Champion in the event and already holds the Irish Senior Record of 30.19 seconds.

Alex Murphy has also qualified for the men’s 50 metres breaststroke semi-finals, while Bangor’s Jordan Sloan set a new Irish Senior Record in the 400m Freestyle.

Brendan Hyland knocked almost a second off his best time in the heats of the 100m Butterfly. The National Centre (Dublin) swimmer clocked 52.20 to finish second in his heat while Conor Brines touched in 52.97. In the 50m Breaststroke Darragh Greene finished in a best time of 27.65 with Nicholas Quinn home in 28.44. Danielle Hill was to finish in 1:02.46 in the 100m Backstroke while Conor Ferguson completed the first morning session for Ireland with a top-twenty position in the 200m Backstroke in 1:55.84.



Day 1 Heats: Results (Wednesday 13th December)

100m Butterfly                 Conor Brines                     H 52.97

Brendan Hyland                H 52.20

50m Breaststroke            Mona McSharry                H 30.80 (16th)

50m Breaststroke            Alex Murphy                      H 26.66 (14th)

Darragh Greene                H 27.65

Nicholas Quinn                  H 28.44

400m Freestyle                Jordan Sloan                     H 3:43.21 ISR

100m Backstroke             Danielle Hill                       H 1:02.46

200m Backstroke             Conor Ferguson                H 1:55.84


Day 1 Semi Finals/Finals Schedule

50m Breaststroke            Alex Murphy                      4pm

50m Breaststroke            Mona McSharry                4.08pm


Results/Schedule: Click HERE (Heats 8.30am/Finals 4pm Ireland)

Team List:

Athlete Home Programme Coach

Calum Bain University of Stirling Bradley Hay

Conor Brines   Larne  Peter Hill

Conor Ferguson National Centre (Dublin)  Ben Higson

Darragh Greene University College Dublin Earl McCarthy

Danielle Hill  Larne  Peter Hill

Brendan Hyland National Centre (Dublin)  Ben Higson

Mona McSharry  Marlins (Ballyshannon) Grace Meade

Alex Murphy National Centre (Dublin)  Ben Higson

Nicholas Quinn University of Edinburgh   Chris Jones

Jordan Sloan   Bangor Paul Dennis