Coughlan opts out of Donegal chairperson race

It looks like former Tanaiste Mary Coughlan will not now be among the contenders to become the new Donegal chairperson.

According to a report in the Donegal Democrat, the St Naul’s clubwoman is withdrawing her name from the contest, as she wants to continue in her role as secretary of the Mountcharles club.

Coughlan had been nominated by the St Michael’s club.

Her withdrawal means that six contenders remain in the race to succeed outgoing chairperson Sean Dunnion at County Convention next week.

They are Mick McGrath, Niall Erskine, Aodh Mairtín Ó Fearraigh, Cieran Kelly, Grace Boyle and Frankie Doherty.