Sligo fiddle player wins Fiddler of Dooney

A Sligo fiddle player has won the prestigious Fiddler of Dooney competition for the second year in a row.

This year, the winner was Caoimhe Kearins, from the Ballymote branch of Comhaltas Ceoltoiri Eireann.

She came 2nd last year.

Second was Rosie Ferguson from Newry, Co Down, and third was Claire Ann Kearns, from County Offaly but whose family are originally from Sooey, Co Sligo.

Last year, the winner was Jason McGuinness, the first Sligo person to win the competition in about 40 years.

Previous winners of the competition, called after the Yeats poem the Fiddler of Dooney, have gone on to become some of the world’s most accomplished and well-known traditional fiddle players.

They include Seamus McGuire, Matt Cranitch, Manus McGuire, and Paddy Glackin.

The competition took place at the weekend in conjunction with the Sligo Live Festival.