Sligo book their place in Connacht minor final

Leitrim’s long wait for an appearance in the Connacht Minor Championship final goes on.

Sligo booked their place in the decider thanks to a 3-12 to 3-7 win in a thoroughly entertaining game in Markievicz Park last night.

Leitrim boss Martin McGowan felt his side didn’t make enough of the chances they created…



Sligo boss David Cummins admitted there was a lot of mistakes on both sides, but was delighted to get through…

The Yeats men will face Galway in the decider, after the Tribesmen overcame Roscommon in Salthill in the other last four tie.



Connacht MFC Semi-Final


Sligo 3-12

Leitrim 3-7


Sligo hit three second half goals to book their place in this year’s Connacht minor final in a wet Markievicz Park.

Red Og Murphy, Evan Lavin and Ryan Walsh all found the net as the Yeats men finished strongly.

But Leitrim started brightly, with Caleb Duffy impressing, and they managed a fortunate goal on 20 minutes, when a Jordan Reynolds effort was caught behind his line by Sligo goalkeeper Alan Davey and a goal was awarded to leave Leitrim 1-4 to 0-5 ahead at the break.

Red Og Murphy’s early second half goal swung the tie back in their favour, before Leitrim’s Oisin McLoughlin and Sligo’s Evan Lavin netted within a minute of each other.

Substitute Ryan Walsh added a third Sligo goal, but McLoughlin’s second three-pointer left the sides all-square with ten minutes left.

But man of the match Conall Ryan, Lavin, Walsh and Luke Towey all clipped over late points, as Sligo pulled clear.


Sligo: A Davey; E Lyons, J Ellis, J Weir; B Cox, E Lavin (1-2), O Conlon; N Colsh, B Gorman (0-1); R Anderson (0-1), L Towey (0-1), C O’Dowd; C Ryan (0-4), R Óg Murphy (1-2, 2f), K McKenna.

Subs: M Cahill for Og Murphy (black card 40), R Walsh (1-1) for O’Dowd (41), J Stephenson for Anderson (50), J McMunn for Colsh (58), B Tuohy for Lavin (60).

Leitrim: E Gallagher; C Dwyer, S Harkin, E Harkin (0-1); C Cullen, S Chandler, M Diffley; A Hoare (0-1), R Sheridan; O McLoughlin (2-1, 1f), J Clancy, R O’Rourke (0-1); D Devanney, C Duffy (0-3), J Reynolds (1-0).

Subs: C Kiernan for Devanney (30), M Keegan for Cullen (ht), P Kelly for Reynolds (52), P Prior for Diffley (54), C Kenny for Keegan (60).

Ref: L Devanney (Mayo).