Basketball Ireland outlines plans for 15-team Men’s Division One next season

Basketball Ireland have outlined their plans for next season’s expanded National League Men’s Division One.

The 15-team league, which will once again include Sligo All-Stars, will see each team play each other once initially, before the top eight teams will split into Division 1A and the bottom seven clubs will go into Division 1B, with the sides in each division playing each other once more.

The side that finishes top of 1A will be crowned league champions and will be promoted to the Super League, while the second-placed team can opt to face the second-bottom team in the Super League in a play-off to determine standings for the following season.

The Presidents Cup, which the All-Stars finished runners-up in last season, will remain a straight knockout competition involving all 15 clubs, while the League Cup at the end of the season will involve the top four teams in divisions 1A and 1B.