Sligo-Leitrim U14s preparing for first ever Kennedy Cup final

The Sligo-Leitrim League U14 side will create history today by appearing in the Kennedy Cup final for the very first time.

John McAteer’s side dramatically beat the Galway League 10-9 in a tense penalty shootout in Thursday’s semi-final to make it five wins from their five games at the tournament.

Today they face the record winnners DDSL in the final at the UL Bowl, after the Dublin league beat their counterparts from Cork 2-0 yesterday evening.

Kick-off in the final is at 2pm and there will be live updates on Ocean FM.

In the subsidiary competitions NDSL will meet Limerick Desmond in the Kennedy Plate Final (12.00pm), Dundalk clash with Midlands in the Kennedy Bowl Final (11.30am), West Cork will face Kerry in the Kennedy Shield Final (11.00am), Mayo will meet Kilkenny in the Kennedy Trophy Final (10.30am).

The tournament sees 640 players representing 32 league U14 representative teams brought together for a five-day event organised by the Schoolboys FAI with 96 different games taking place.

The first SFAI Umbro Kennedy Cup took place in 1976 and record winners the DDSL captured the title for the 30th time last year after beating Galway on penalties after the final ended in a 0-0 draw.


30 – Dublin and District Schoolboy League (1976, 1978, 1979, 1981, 1982, 1983, 1984, 1985, 1987, 1988, 1990, 1991, 1992, 1994, 1996, 1997, 1999, 2001, 2002, 2004, 2005, 2006, 2007, 2008, 2009, 2010, 2012, 2013, 2014, 2016)

3 – Cork Schoolboy League (1977, 1986, 1989)

3 – Waterford Schoolboys League (1993, 1998, 2003)

2 – Limerick and District Schoolboy League (1980, 2000)

2 – NDSL (1995, 2011)

1 – Kerry Schoolboys/Girls League (2015)

Full details are available at: and highlights are available on the SFAI Facebook page.