Kaylim Noel named in Division One team of the year

Sligo All-Stars’ Kaylim Noel has been named on the Basketball Ireland All-Star first five for the Men’s Division One.

The American had an outstanding first season for the club, having linked up with Shane O’Meara’s side on their return to national league basketball.

The EJs All-Stars finished comfortably midtable in Division One, and also reached the President’s Cup final where they lost out to Cork side Neptune.

Neptune’s Tanner Brooks was named Division One player of the year, and was also named in the top five alongside Noel, and Mike Klinger of IT Carlow, Eoin Rockall from Maree and Christopher Teasley from Kestrels.

The All Stars were selected from the votes of the league coaches who voted for the players every month from the start of the season until the end of March.

“We’re delighted to honour the very best of our leagues for the 2016-17 season,” said Women’s National League Commissioner Matthew Hall. “The All Stars were brought back in 2015 and have proven to be very popular since then. This year’s awards recognize the best and most consistent players in Ireland.”

In the Men’s Super League, Garvey’s Tralee Warriors’ star guard, Trae Pemberton has not only scooped his first All Star here in Ireland, but has also secured the title of Player of the Year after a superb season with the Kerry side. Meanwhile, Pyrobel Killester’s Jermaine Turner and Templeogue’s Mike Bonaparte have picked up their second successive All-Stars and they are joined by new recipients Jose Maria Gil Narbon of Griffith Swords Thunder and Templeogue’s Lorcan Murphy.

The top three clubs in this year’s Women’s Super League meanwhile have All-Star recipients on their rosters, with Ambassador UCC Glanmire’s Claire Rockall picking up her third successive All-Star and also winning the Women’s Super League title of Player of the Year 2016/17 after a phenomenal season with the Cork side. Jazmen Boone of Courtyard Liffey Celtics meanwhile has bagged her second consecutive All-Star, while Glanmire’s Grainne Dwyer, Emma O’Connor of Liffey Celtics and Sarah Fairbanks of DCU Mercy make up the remaining spots.

In the Women’s Division One, play off champions Marble City Hawks’ star, Kelly O’Hallahan has secured the Player of the Year awards and an All Star, with team mate, Katie Fox also getting an All Star. Regular Season champions ITC Basketball also have an All-Star with Jamiyah Bethune scooping the honour, while Sarah Benedetti of UL Huskies and Meagan Hoffman of Oblate Dynamos all received the prestigious award.


Basketball Ireland Player of the Year 2017


Men’s Super League


Trae Pemberton (Garvey’s Tralee Warriors)




Women’s Super League


Claire Rockall (Ambassador UCC Glanmire)




Men’s Division One


Tanner Brooks (BFG Neptune)




Women’s Division One


Kelly O’Hallahan (Marble City Hawks)




Men’s Super League All Stars First team 2017


Trae Pemberton (Garvey’s Tralee Warriors)


Jose Maria Gil Narbon (Griffith Swords Thunder)


Lorcan Murphy (Templeogue)


Jermaine Turner (Pyrobel Killester)


Mike Bonaparte (Templeogue)




Men’s Super League All Star second team 2017


Dillon Stith (Belfast Star)


Mike Garrow (UCD Marian)


Kevin Foley (KUBS)


Jason Killeen (Templeogue)


Isaac Westbrooks (Griffith Swords Thunder)




Men’s Super League All Star third team 2017


Kieran Donaghy (Garvey’s Tralee Warriors)


Corbin Jackson (KUBS)


Keelan Cairns (Belfast Star)


Martins Provizors (DCU Saints)


Ryan Leonard (Garvey’s Tralee Warriors)




Women’s Super League All Stars first team 2017


Claire Rockall (Ambassador UCC Glanmire)


Jazmen Boone (Courtyard Liffey Celtics)


Grainne Dwyer (Ambassador UCC Glanmire)


Emma O’Connor (Courtyard Liffey Celtics)


Sarah Fairbanks (DCU Mercy)




Women’s Super League All Star second team 2017


Sorcha Tiernan (Courtyard Liffey Celtics)


Mimi Clarke (Pyrobel Killester)


Necole Sterling (Portlaoise Panthers)


Claire Melia (Portlaoise Panthers)


Sarah Woods (DCU Mercy)




Women’s Super League All Star third team 2017


Ebony Wells (NUIG Mystics)


Chantell Alford (Ambassador UCC Glanmire)


Jade Daly (Pyrobel Killester)


Amy Waters (Singleton SuperValu Brunell)


Eimear Mairtin (Meteors)




Men’s Division One All Stars First team 2017


Tanner Brooks (BFG Neptune)


Kaylim Noel (Ej Sligo All Stars)


Mike Klinger (ITC Basketball)


Eoin Rockall (Maree)


Christopher Teasley (Kestrels)




Men’s Division One All Star second team 2017


Sean Jenkins (BFG Neptune)


Ryan Oliver (Ulster University Elks)


Gary Walsh (BFG Neptune)


Kenneth Hansberry (Maree)


Garny Garcia Nivar (Keane’s SuperValu Killorglin)




Men’s Division One All Star third team 2017


Matt Van Pelt (Team Kilkenny)


Kevin Grey (Keane’s SuperValu Killorglin)


Adam Drummond (BFG Neptune)


Declan Wall (Keane’s SuperValu Killorglin)


Paulius Peldzius (Maree)




Women’s Division One All Stars First team 2017


Kelly O’Hallahan (Marble City Hawks)


Katie Fox (Marble City Hawks)


Jamiyah Bethune (ITC Basketball)


Sarah Benedetti (UL Huskies)


Meagan Hoffman (Oblate Dynamos)




Women’s Division One All Star second team 2017


Carlee Lough (Ulster Rockets)


Nyahsa Saraju (Ulster University Elks)


Megan Campbell (ITC Basketball)


Mairead McNally (Ulster Rockets)


Dearbla Breen (Fr Mathews)




Women’s Division One All Star third team 2017


Enya Maguire (Ulster University Elks)


Zee Shahid Martin (Ulster Rockets)


Aine Sheehy (Marble City Hawks)


Niamh Dwyer (Fr Mathews)


Marianna Troy (Ulster Rockets)