Rovers’ first league game moved to Friday

Sligo Rovers’ first league game of the season has been moved forward 24 hours.

The game away to Limerick at the Market’s Field was originally scheduled for Saturday, February 25, but will instead take place on Friday, February 24, with a 7.45pm kick-off.

Meanwhile, Finn Harps trip to Limerick on St Patrick’s weekend has a new kick-off time.

The game on Saturday, March 18, will now take place at the earlier time of 2pm, and not at 6.30pm as first advertised.

Meanwhile, Rovers have their first home game of the year this evening, when they take on the Irish Defence Forces side in a pre-season friendly.

Rovers also played the Defence Forces in a friendly last year on the Sean Fallon Centre, winning 3-0 on that occasion.

New Bit O’ Red signing Chris Kenny featured for the Defence Forces in that game, and could play for either side tonight.

Tonight’s game will also give many Rovers fans a first opportunity to see the other new additions, including defender Kyle-Callan McFadden, goalkeeper Shaun Patton, and strikers Matthew Stevens and Jonah Ayunga in action for the first time.

This is the first of two home fixtures prior to the beginning of the new season with the visit of Finn Harps taking place on Tuesday next.

Tonight’s game kicks-off at 7pm.

In other news, Irish amateur team coach Gerry Davis has named Sligo’s Conor Griffin in his side to face Noel King’s U21 ‘home-based’ side in a friendly in Dublin on Saturday.

The Calry Bohs clubman impressed on the Irish Regions Cup team that qualified from their group in the European qualifiers last year, and are preparing for the finals in Istanbul in the summer.

Sligo Rovers defenders Gary Boylan and Regan Donelon have been named in the U21 squad.

The full Irish amateur squad is: Gary Neville (Pike Rovers), Mark Power (College Corinthians), Shane Daly Butz, Sean Mc Gloughlin (UCC FC), Hughie O’ Donovan, Simon Falvey, David Kiely, Andrew Gannon (Avondale FC), Jimmy Carr, Paul Breen (St. Michaels FC), Conor Griffin (Calry Bohs), Declan Duggan (Rockmount FC), Chris Fox (Douglas Hall FC), Padraig O’ Connor, Chris Smith (Abbeyfeale Utd), David Joyce (Clonmel Celtic), Stephen Keely (Regional Utd), David Sweeney (Ballincollig) Eoin Collins (St. Marys FC), Eoin Hayes, Stephen Kelly (Newmarket Celtic).