Five newcomers in Donegal team for Kerry game

The Donegal starting 15 to play Kerry in the national league opener in Letterkenny on Sunday has been named.

Donegal will give five players their first start in the league, and three of those will be making their debut.

Midfielder Jason McGee, centre-forward Michael Langan and corner-forward Jamie Brennan all make their first appearance in the league, while Caolan Ward makes his first start at centre-back.

Bundoran’s Paul Brennan makes his Donegal debut at wing-back, but the former Melvin Gaels man did feature in the league before for Leitrim.

Mark Anthony McGinley starts in goal, with Neil McGee full-back, and Killybegs’ Eoghan Ban Gallagher and Ardara’s Paddy McGrath in the corner-back positions.

Kilcar’s Ryan McHugh is in the half-back line, with Killybegs’ Hugh McFadden partnering McGee in midfield.

Ciaran Thompson and Marty O’Reilly are in the wing-forweard positions, with Patrick McBrearty in the corner and Michael Murphy captaining the team from number 14.

Eoin McHugh, Stephen McBrearty, Frank McGlynn, Karl Lacey, Martin McElhinney, Neil Gallagher and Mark McHugh are among those absent from the starting team on Sunday.

Donegal boss Rory Gallagher says the full squad are determined to improve themselves with every game in this year’s league…

Donegal team v Kerry:

  1. Mark Anthony McGinley (St Michael’s)
  2. Paddy McGrath (Ardara)
  3. Neil McGee (Gaoth Dobhair)
  4. Eoghan Ban Gallagher (Killybegs)
  5. Paul Brennan (Bundoran)
  6. Caolan Ward (St Eunan’s)
  7. Ryan McHugh (Kilcar)
  8. Hugh McFadden (Killybegs)
  9. Jason McGee (Cloughaneely)
  10. Marty O’Reilly (Mac Cumhaill’s)
  11. Michael Langan (St Michael’s)
  12. Ciaran Thompson (Naomh Conaill)
  13. Jamie Brennan (Bundoran)
  14. Michael Murphy (Glenswilly – Captain)
  15. Patrick McBrearty (Kilcar)