Sligo’s Liam McDonagh appointed new president of Connacht LGFA

Sligo’s Liam McDonagh is the new president of the Connacht Ladies Association.

The St Nathy’s clubman was elected to the post for a three-year term at Tuesday night’s Connacht AGM.

McDonagh has been involved in ladies football for the past 25 years through club, county and province.

A former chairperson of the Sligo Ladies Board, he has been Connacht vice-president for five years.

Another Sligo-man, Ted Maloney, has been elected Connacht vice-president, while current Sligo Ladies chairperson Keith Gilroy will also remain on as Connacht PRO.

Leitrim’s Marian McKeon has been elected assistant secretary, while Maeve Quinn will be the cultural and language officer for 2017.


The following officers were elected to Connacht Ladies Gaelic Football Council for 2017.

President: Liam Mc Donagh (Sligo)

Vice President: Ted Maloney (Sligo)

Secretary: Mary Hernon (Galway)

Assistant Secretary: Marian Mc Keon (Leitrim)

Treasurer: Jimmy Murphy (Mayo)

Assistant Treasurer: Con Moynihan (Galway)

Registrar: Maura Burke (Galway)

P.R.O. Keith Gilroy (Sligo)

Cultural & Language Officer: Maeve Quinn (Leitrim)

Development Officer: P.J. Rabbitte (Galway)