Councillors & TD welcome news of funding for school safety

Sligo councillors and TD’s have welcomed the announcement of funding allocated to safety measures at schools in the north west.

One and three quarter million euro has been allocated to Sligo, Donegal and Leitrim.

Donegal will get a total of €879,000; Sligo €599,000 and Leitrim €275,000.

€14,000 has been allocated for speed safety signs at Diffreen National School between Sligo and Manorhamilton.

In Donegal, €22,000 is earmarked for footpaths in Glencolmcille and €27,000 for footpaths at St Eunan’s national School in Ballintra.

Sligo/Leitrim Fine Gael TD Tony McLoughlin welcomed the announcement while Sligo County Council cathaoirleach Fine Gael’s Hubert Keaney is happy the funding will allow the council to carry out important works.

Cathaoirleach of the Tubbercurry/Ballymote municipal district Fine Gael councillor Dara Mulvey said it’s a good news for Sligo