Tony Fagan to be inducted into Rovers Hall of Fame on Saturday

Sligo Rovers legend Tony Fagan will be honoured by Sligo Rovers at their Gala Awards ceremony on Saturday29th October in the Clarion Hotel. The Hall of Fame Award is being introduced to acknowledge people who have given exemplary service to the club, and it is fitting that the recipient of the inaugural award is someone who enjoys universal respect and admiration among the Sligo Rovers supporters and the wider Irish soccer community.

Tony played for Rovers from 1967 to 1987, making almost 600 appearances and scoring 47 goals.

Other awards being presented on the night include the Senior and Young Player of the Year, under-19 and under-17 Player of the year, and Spirit of Sligo Award.

Senior and young player of the year

Supporters are being asked to select the Senior and Young Player of the Year, and they can do so by voting on the Sligo Rovers website.

The nominations selected by our local sports media are:

Senior Player of the Year                                  Young Player of the Year

  • Rafaele Cretaro                                            – Tobi Adebayo-Rowling


  • Jimmy Keohane                                            – Gary Boylan
  • Liam Martin                                                   – Regan Donelon
  • Michael Schlingermann                                  – Kieran Sadlier


U-19 and U-17 Awards

The shortlist for the under-19 Player of the Year: Jason Hunt, Paul Doyle, Mark Hannon and Mickey Place;

The nominees for the under-17 Award are: John Mahon, Jack Keaney and Ryan Smith.

The awards on these categories will be announced on the night

Special contribution

According to Chairman Martin Heraghty “The Sligo Rovers community, players, volunteers, supporters and their families deserve a social occasion to reflect on the season just ended and to acknowledge those who have made a special contribution.”

Collectors’ items

There will also be an auction of exceptional collector’s items, including a complete set of autographed jerseys very generously presented by Seamus Coleman, (Everton, Ireland and Rovers). The auction will also feature a Cardiff jersey signed by Eoin Doyle and Portsmouth jersey signed by Paul Cook.

Join players, former players, special guests and fellow supporters for in the Clarion Hotel for a Drinks Reception from 7pm to 8pm followed by a four course meal.


A great way to mark the end of the 2016 season!

Tickets are very reasonably priced at €40, are available at or contact any member of the Management Committee or call to the Club office.