New Cathaoirleach’s expected in Sligo and Manorhamilton

The selection of cathaoirleachs, mayors and their deputies have as much to do with politics — and political dealmaking — as with democracy.

And with this in mind, most eyes this afternoon will be on who will become the new mayor of Sligo.

Although it’s now a largely symbolic role — in effect a chairman of a committee of the council — it is still much sought after, if for no other reason than the profile it gives the office-holder.

After the last local elections, a deal was done among Sligo Municipal District Councillors in relation to what groups would hold the positions of mayor and deputy mayor for the next five years.

Fianna Fail Councillor Tom MacSharry was mayor the first year after the election, followed by Sinn Fein’s Thomas Healy.

This year, it’s the turn of the Independents, and it had been expected that Independent Councillor Marie Casserly would be selected as the mayor.

There are two other Independents on the Sligo Municipal District, Declan Bree and Gino O Boyle.

But sources have told Ocean FM News that moves have been made in recent days to have an Independent other than Councillor Casserly elected as mayor.

Councillor Casserly herself declined to comment to Ocean FM News in advance today’s meeting.

Meanwhile, it’s expected Fine Gael’s Hubert Keaney will succeed Fianna Fail’s Rosaleen O’Grady as cathaoirleach — or chairperson — of the overall council.

And it’s expected Fine Gael’s Dara Mulvey will succeed Fianna Fail’s Paul Taylor as cathaoirleach of the Ballymote/Tubbercurry Municipal Distric of the council.

Meanwhile, the annual meeting of Manorhamilton Municipal District will also take place today — that’s at 2pm.

There, it’s expected Fianna Fail’s Justin Warnock will be elected chairman.

Meanwhile, Leitrim County Council itself, at its annual meeting in Carrick on Shannon on Friday, chose two North Leitrim councillors for its top positions.

Fianna Fail’s Mary Bohan is the new Cathaoirleach while Fine Gael’s Sean McDermott is the new leas-Cathaoirleach.