Donegal’s Naughton and McMonagle honoured

Donegal manager Micheal Naughton and full-forward Yvonne McMonagle were named the manager of the month and the player of the month for May at last night’s national league awards ceremony in Dublin in Croke Park.


Naughton’s Donegal side claimed the National League Division Two title in Parnell Park during the month, with McMonagle playing a starring role.


The Glenfin clubwoman also helped the Ulster interprovincial team claim a fifth successive interpro title during May, with Naughton a selector on that panel.


Five Donegal players, two Sligo footballers and one Leitrim player were also among the recipients of team of the league awards last night.


McMonagle was named in the Division Two team alongside team-mates Treasa Doherty, Ciara Hegarty, Niamh Hegarty and Deirdre Foley, and Sligo duo Noelle Gormley and Sinead McTiernan (pictured below).

Sinead McTiernan

Leitrim’s Aine Tighe was selected on the Division Three team.